Patience, Indeed, It’s Divine

eden08122015

Today’s message from God Calling – A.J. Russell, reminds us that we must be as disciplined about developing and practicing patience as we are about everything else.

We’re told that we must also be patient with ourselves.  Sometimes that’s a hard thing, isn’t it?  I often got frustrated with myself if it didn’t go right, or I wasn’t getting it done as quickly as I wanted to.  I have learned patience.  I have to admit that it felt so very strange to just put it up and walk away for a minute or the rest of the day, and feel perfectly o.k. about it.

I’ve also gotten quite a bit better at not setting myself up to be frustrated.  By that I mean that if I know the line’s going to be a long one, I will make a point of arriving later so I won’t have to wait so long.  I think that’s part of cultivating patience; good planning to accommodate that Murphy’s Law thing.

It certainly does help to kind of take an inventory of the things that frustrate you, and make some little tweaks to routine and such, in order to be less frustrated.  Patience is empowered by foresight, I think.  As for those unforeseen events…the person in front of you who is walking very slowly because he/she is disabled, the new checkout clerk who’s still learning, even the surly guy in the breakfast line with the bad attitude…well, that’s when you have to step back and let your Jesus out.  He’s the compassionate one at 7:30 a.m. when I’m still waiting for my coffee.  Thankfully, He’s usually right on time with the mercy and grace in those situations.

When we put all these things together, it’s easier to cultivate and manifest patience in our daily lives.  It’s well worth the effort, and oh, some of the best laughs I’ve had came from being patient in a situation.

Love you from Cafe du Mondieu

Copyright by Marina Morrison (aka) Eden Stillwater, June 3, 2019, 2:45 p.m.

Leave a comment