How Depressing…

win_20170116_14_42_20_pro-2

Yay! It’s almost Christmas!  Today’s message from God Calling – A.J. Russell reminds us that depression is a state of fear.  I have to agree with that.  Some forms of depression are based in the fear of change.  There are clinical causes for depression, though, as well-so always make sure you get a physical check-up if you can’t seem to shake it.

When I read this message the first time, I didn’t connect the fear factor.  As time when by, and I find myself at times, just not wanting to get up out of bed, on a daily basis, I began to connect that “fatigue” with changes that were happening in my life. I was, in effect, trying to stick my head in the sand.  Sometimes, even positive changes bring on fear-fear of failure, or fear of not measuring up to the expectations.  I’m sure you’re getting a good picture of how insidious and stealthy fear is, and how little a thing it takes to trigger it.

When I connected that all with Jesus’ “fear not,” and what the Bible tells us: We live by faith, not by sight; we walk by faith and not by sight.  I began to win.  We do need sight, though, to beat the fear attacks; insight.  The trick is honesty.  You have to be totally honest with yourself.  Sometimes even that is a fearful thing.  We don’t really want the truth at times, do we?  I ducked that ball so often I lost count; until I learned that I was harming myself by doing that.  It’s very painful sometimes to face truth, and to accept it-OMG, that’s excruciating.  Jesus said the truth would set us free.  But when we accept truth-whatever it may be, we become free from the greater pain of denial.  Believe me, denial is the greater pain, and it reaches much farther into your life than you think it does.  Denial will have you so muddled and so befuddled by your own lies that you can’t even find yourself when you look in the mirror.  Fear is the culprit behind it all.  See why it’s one of the devil’s favorite weapons?  Yeah; and you thought fear was just confined to boogey men, monsters, and zombies.  When I feel fear lurking now, I do what Jesus told us to do: Take heart and fear not!  Fight fear with everything you’ve got!

Love you from Cafe du Mondieu                                                                                                  Copyright by Marina Morrison (aka) Eden Stillwater, December 19, 2018, 3:31 p.m.

Leave a comment